Friday FaBOOolousness – The Boo Factor: The Lost Boys

Perhaps every decade has a right to claim its movies faBOOolous, but the ‘80s reigned supreme with slasher franchise giants such as Friday the 13th and A Nightmare on Elm Street – both of which still live on today in our generation of remakes.

Today, we’re focusing on the 1987 supernatural great, and one of my all-time favorite vampire movies: The Lost Boys.

Michael (Jason Patric), Sam (Corey Haim), and their mother, Lucy Emerson ((Diane Weist), move to Santa Clara, California to live with their grandfather (“Grandpa” played by Barnard Hughes) following Lucy’s divorce.

Michael: On their first night in town, the brothers head out to the town boardwalk, where Michael sees Star (Jami Gertz) dancing in the moonlight.  Seduced by her moves, he follows her, where he meets David (Keifer Sutherland) and his friends for the first time.  The next night, Michael runs into David again; only this time, David challenges Michael to join him on a motorcycle ride.  Wanting to impress Star, Michael agrees and later follows the mysterious teens back to their underground lair.  Peer pressure and temptation ensue, and Michael drinks from the wine bottle that David and his friends pass around.

The next morning, Michael is sensitive to the sunlight, and his transformation begins.

Sam: The younger of the Emerson brothers, Sam, finds solace in a local comic book store on the boardwalk where he meets the Frog brothers: Edgar (Corey Feldman) and Alan (Jamison Newlander).  The Frog brothers claim to be vampire hunters, and provide Sam with tons of reading material to prepare for living in Santa Clara, a town plagued by the night’s creatures.

How else does one explain all of the missing person flyers?

Sam shrugs the crazy brothers off, until later that night when his dog, Nanook, begins growling ferociously at the bathroom door while Sam bathes.  Bothered by Nanook’s reaction, Sam robes up only to find his brother Michael hiding in the darkness.

Spooked by the combination of the Frog brothers’ tale and by Nanook, Sam runs from Michael.  He locks himself in his room, calls his mother, and looks out the window to see his brother floating in the air.  At this point, Michael knows something is very wrong, and he returns to David’s lair seeking answers from his new so-called friends.  Instead, he finds Star, who immediately commiserates with Michael and the two bond (physically and emotionally).

Sam seeks the Frog brothers’ help, but refuses to follow their advice, which is to kill Michael.  Sam does, however, believe them now that Santa Clara is crawling with vampires, and asks for their help in saving his brother.  In the meantime, Sam begins questioning anyone he comes in contact with, including his mom’s new boyfriend, Max (Edward Herrmann).  The Frog brothers accept Sam’s invitation to dinner where they test Max with Holy water and garlic, infuriating Lucy and embarrassing Sam.

Michael decides to join David and his gang on another outing, even after the group taunted him on a motorcycle ride and forced him to hang from a railroad bridge. This time, he witnesses the young vampires feed on a group of teens at a camp site.  He refuses to kill, but now knows exactly what is happening to him.

Michael returns home, where Sam and the Frog brothers hatch a plan to kill David, clearly the head-vampire.   Things go from bad to worse when their murderous attempt fails, and Michael realizes David will seek revenge and hunt him at nightfall.

The fight scenes at the end of The Lost Boys were faBOOolously choreographed and had brilliant special effects for its time.  I don’t want to give the ending away for those who have yet to see the movie (are there really those out there who have not seen The Lost Boys?), but will wrap with the famous closing line: “One thing about living in Santa Carla I never could stomach, all the damn vampires.”

And, who can forget Jason Patric and Corey Haim’s blue eyes just before the fade to black?  The closing scene solidified those two as ‘80s heart-throbsRight girls?

It would be wrong of me to end the post without mentioning the music.  The Lost Boys has one of the best motion picture soundtracks of the ‘80s with musical greats including INXS, popular hit songs such as “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” and “People Are Strange,” as well as the ever-haunting theme song, “Cry Little Sister.”

Who’s your favorite character in The Lost Boys? Did you guess the head-vampire correctly, or were you surprised at the end?  Did you want a Husky after falling in love with Nanook? What are some of your favorite quotes from this ‘80s classic?  Did you watch any of the sequels?  Do you have another favorite ‘80s scary movie?  I’d love to hear from you!

33 Replies to “Friday FaBOOolousness – The Boo Factor: The Lost Boys”

  1. The Lost Boys! One of my all-time favorites! Of course I wanted a Husky after this movie. Nanook was the ultimate dog. I did guess the head vampire, believe it or not, but only right before he showed up.

    Of course Corey Haim was my favorite Lost Boy. What a sad story that is. He and Corey Feldman were great together.

    I also love People Under The Stairs (was that 80s?) and Nightmare on Elm Street. That’s when I fell in love with Johnny:) Remember Witchboard? That was super scary!

    1. Hey, Stacy! I couldn’t shake the idea that maybe Grandpa was the head-vampire….his secret shelf in the fridge, his woodshed/office….

      Tell me more about Witchboard….thanks for stopping by!

      1. You know what, now that you mention it, I was suspicious of Grandpa, too.

        Witchboard. It’s been so long since I’ve seen it. It’s about the power of a Ouija board and how it messes up everyone’s lives. I just remember being scared to death. Not sure if I still would be, lol.

      2. Witchboard w/Tawny Kitaen! I have seen it – not too long ago actually on one of the movie channels, but I also remember it from when I was younger. The Ouija board gets me….good one, Stacy!

  2. This is probably my favorite vampire movie! (Maybe because I don’t think it came from a book, so no one ruined a literary work in the process.) I had forgotten that it was Jason Patric in the primary role, but I thought he was heavenly handsome at the time. I was a litte surprised at the head vampire, but not shocked. I didn’t even know there were sequels, Tiffany! I guess in my mind, this movie was a stand-alone. I highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t seen the movie! Thanks for the reminder!

    1. Hey, Julie! Jason Patric isn’t bad today….but he was pretty hot in ’87. The sequels are pretty weak…I was very disappointed. They should have left well-enough alone. I tihnk it’s in the first sequel (there have been 2 that I know of) that Keifer’s little brother stars in it….Thanks for stopping by!

  3. The thing I liked about The Lost Boys is that it’s a comedy, a horror, and a romance. Remember that part where Edward Hermann (Max) says, “I still want you, Lucy,” and flashes his tongue? I still cackle every time I see that. And Jason Patric was so hot back then. He’s one of those who has not aged that well–unlike Rick Springfield. Yummm.

    Favorite horror from the 80s? Nightmare on Elm Street really, really scared me. I saw it back when only the first one was out. Boy, what a scary concept at the time. It grew cheesy over all the sequels, but, at the time…wow. Very scary.

    At the time, I also thought Fright Night was very good. We tried to watch it this year as one of our Halloween movies, though, and I found it very dated and cheesy.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane. You know I love ’em.

    1. Hey, Catie! Really? I think Jason Patric has aged well. He has that rugged look similar to Patrick Dempsey. But you are right – he was dreamy in ’87.

      I can’t wait for the Fright Night remake next month. FN will be my August Boo Factor. Colin Farrell as Jerry – now there’s a dreamy vamp! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Lost Boys is of my top five “classic” movies of all times. I was actually was a fan of Hughes a.k.a. Grandpa. He had the best part in my opinion and his closing statement about “all the damn vampires” left me in stitches! Now, if I can find a VCR I’ll be watching this (still have it on tape).

    Thanks for the great nostalgia trip Tiffany 🙂

    1. Gene! I bought The Lost Boys on DVD just last year for my annual scary-movie slumber party. The theme for the night was Scream, but I couldn’t resist picking it up because I too still had it on VHS. Target should have for cheap. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Okay, now I have to watch this movie again. It’s been so long since I’ve seen it, that I don’t remember enough about it to comment on anything. I just remember liking it a lot. And I LOVE vampires of all kinds. :0)

  6. Lauralynn, watch it and let’s reminisce. I can’t get stop repeating the following in my head..I think I need to watch it again too.

    David – It’s too late, my blood is in your veins.
    Michael – So is MINE!

  7. OK, I’m gonna confess the unthinkable…I’ve never seen The Lost Boys. Pretty sure it hit during my first year or so of college when the only movies I saw were snippets here and there at parties. My husband can never believe how many “parts of movies” I’ve seen!

    I guess we’ll have to have a movie-fest here at the Hansen House…

    Note: if it scares the crap out of me, I’m gonna come back and complain to all of you!

    1. Okay, Jenny – I know I say this all of the time, but I really mean it this time! You MUST watch The Lost Boys. I’ve given you most of the story here, so you shouldn’t get scared. 🙂

      1. All right….as long as I know no one is REALLY going to get brained, maimed or slashed, I think I can take it. (And, yes, I know it really does kill you to have a friend who is who lacking in entertainment fixes!)

    1. Hey, Savannah – isn’t Billy Wirth the vamp that woke and ruined the Sam and The Frog Brothers’ plan? He was pretty hot in his own right… Thanks for stopping by!

  8. You and I are on the same wavelength. I LOVE The Lost Boys. It’s one of my guilty pleasure movies. And you’re right, the soundtrack rocks.

    Favorite quote: “Death by stereo.”

  9. Cue bubblebath lipsynching “I ain’t got a man…I ain’t got a daughter!”
    I love this film! And you’re right, it does have an amazing soundtrack. Cue the creepy children’s choir “Though shall not fall…”

    And Catie made a great point about it being a comedy too. How about the dinner where the Frog brothers try to out the head vamp by fooling around with the garlic? Classic lights out, lights on humor!

    Who was my favorite character? Well, probably Corey Feldman, however I adore Jamie Gertz as Star! Ever see her old 80’s chick flick Jersey Girl with her and Dylan McDermott? You must, you must! You’ll love it!

    1. Hey, Jess! I so wanted to be Star when I was younger. I loved Jami Gertz! I watched Less than Zero just because she was in it! I haven’t seen Jersey Girl, that I can remember anyway; I have to check it out! Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Sheri! I love Row 80 and have sent a request to check out the group. I follow C.Lee and saw a few other writing friends on the group’s home page. Thanks for making the suggestion!

  10. The Lost Boys is one of my favs, too. I’m just sorry Corey Haim was chewed up and spit out by the system. Other 80’s movies I liked that he starred in were Silver Bullet (from Stephen King’s story about a werewolf) and Watchers (based on Dean Koontz’s book about a super intelligent dog).

    1. Hey, Angela! I LOVED Silver Bullet! I still catch it as often as I can when it’s on TV today. The Corey tragedy is a tough one to swallow – we’ve seen it happen to so many child stars in our lifetime. There is no reason for it…. I don’t think I’ve seen Watchers….thanks for stopping by!

  11. OK – so I’m really embarrassed but I have never seen this movie – and it sounds awesome!! Your review was great though and I almost feel like I’ve seen it!

    1. Hey, Donna! I purposely didn’t talk about the ending so those that have not seen The Lost Boys can still enjoy. Thank you so much for stopping by! I love the Tuesday Train Blog Hop. 🙂

Leave a comment