Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Filling a Void

Tomorrow, many celebrate Thanksgiving here in the United States.  Holidays are great, especially Turkey Day… but because the work week has been cut down to two days AND we have other family obligations looming, Amber West and I have decided to switch things up again with today’s Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday reviews.

Instead of reviewing the remaining 2012 fall television programs we’ve yet to cover, we’ve decided to answer the below question with links back to our previous posts.

“One of my favorite shows no longer on the air is: ______. To fill that void, I now watch: _____.”

First, let’s fill in the blanks…

One of my favorite shows no longer on the air is: Twin Peaks.

To fill that void, I now watch: Pretty Little Liars.

Remember Dallas’ ever-so famous mystery back in 1980: Who shot J.R.?

How about 1984’s Wendy’s slogan: Where’s the beef?

The 1990’s wasn’t far behind with its very own unique conversation starter: Who killed Laura Palmer?

Debuting April 8, 1990, this David Lynch serial whodunit captivated audiences.  Twin Peaks had everything—great music, beautiful scenery, familiar older actors, gorgeous younger actors, quirky characters, and murder.

But, the mystery is what pulled me in.

Many of us are familiar with the term hook… that crucial moment in a story’s opening that sucks the reader/viewer in and never lets go.

Twin Peaks did just that—a teenage girl’s dead body is found wrapped tightly in clear plastic on the bank of the town’s river.  The sheriff and town doctor arrive only to identify the body as Laura Palmer, the local homecoming queen.

Actually, now that I think about it, perhaps Twin Peaks is the reason I chose to write in the YA mystery genre in the first place?  But, that’s another conversation for another time…

Twin Peaks concluded its run after only two seasons.  Once the Laura Palmer case was solved, the show took a turn directly to crazy town.  But, that’s okay.  This show opened my eyes to what a serial whodunit really is…

… Which is one reason why I fill this void with ABC Family’s Pretty Little Liars.

Like Twin Peaks, Pretty Little Liars has it all: great music from modern-day artists; a beautiful small-town setting; familiar older actors playing the parental roles; gorgeous younger actors playing the teen protagonist roles; and most importantly… murder.

The Pretty Little Liars’ mystery begins with the discovery of Alison DiLaurentis’ body.  Not only was one of the most popular, yet antagonizing high schoolers murdered, but now all of her closest friends are being stalked and threatened by who we assume is the killer.  We’re three seasons in and I still do not know who killed Alison…

I’ll admit it—one of my favorite programs on television today targets a teen audience; but this thirtysomething loves the twists and turns week after week.

For a more detailed look at why I love these two serial whodunits, click here for Twin Peaks and here for Pretty Little Liars.

Now, it’s your turn:“One of my favorite shows no longer on air is: ______. To fill that void, I now watch: _____.”  Why did you select these shows?  I’d love to hear from you!

Remember to click over to Amber’s new & improved blog and see how she filled in the blanks…

Come back next week when Amber and I review something….  Stay tuned!

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV):It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (NyQuil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

5 Replies to “Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Filling a Void”

  1. Gosh. I hadn’t thought about Twin Peaks in years. I used to love that show. The one armed man creeped me out. It’s also the first time I was introduced to Lara Flynn Boyle & Kyle McLachlan.

  2. Oh, Twin Peaks! I have the DVD’s, but I haven’t watched too many of them yet. I loved that show. I’m a little confused at how Pretty Little Liars would replace that one. So now, I’ll have to check out that show to find the answer. 🙂

Leave a comment