New to TV – Fall 2013 (Part One)

It’s that time of year again… the fall television schedule is here!  And as always, the networks have a lineup of many new programs to accompany our returning favorites.

Some of the series have promise, while others may flop—but, regardless, we’ll tune in to check them out!

Today, we’re mixing it up with comedy and drama…

*****

Sleepy Hollow

FOX Summary: Ichabod Crane and Detective Abbie Mills battle forces, including the Four Horseman, brought back to life in the town of Sleepy Hollow.

After 250 years in a “dead” slumber, Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) returns to the town of Sleepy Hollow.  During an interrogation by local authorities, he remembers last working for General George Washington.  He reveals Washington ordered him to kill a man, a mission he accomplished by beheading the target.

Not really knowing what to think, the local police department partners Ichabod with Detective Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie), hoping the two will work together to solve a series of bizarre events.  After all, Ichabod isn’t the only one to rise from the dead in Sleepy Hollow…

But in order to succeed, the two must first uncover all of the clues left behind by our country’s founding fathers, unlocking a century’s old mystery.

From the writers and producers of Star Trek (2009 and 2013), the series also stars Orlando Jones (the 7 UP guy) and John Cho (Harold from the Harold and Kumar movies).

We’re a day late with this one… Sleepy Hollow actually premiered last night on FOX.  But don’t worry; if you missed the pilot, it will re-air this Friday, September 20th.  Be sure to check the local listings.

*****

Brooklyn Nine-Nine

FOX Summary: Jake Peralta, a talented, but carefree police detective, and his eclectic colleagues get a rude awakening when the precinct hires an uptight captain, who’s dead set on turning the poorly functional team into one of the best ones in Brooklyn.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine is something kind of new… at least to my generation… it’s a show about cops (okay, that aspect is not new to TV), only this one is supposed to be funny.  It’s a sitcom, not the average police procedural.  And while this team of detectives will solve crimes, they hope to make us laugh along the way.

The star, Andy Samberg (Saturday Night Live), mentioned in a TV interview that his new comedy has been likened to Barney Miller.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

In addition to Samberg’s Detective Peralta character, the series also stars: Andre Braugher (Glory, City of Angels, Men of a Certain Age) as the new captain; Stephanie Beatriz as Detective Diaz, the tough, smart, and scary one; Joe Lo Truglio (Role Models, Wanderlust) as Detective Boyle, the klutzy one; Melissa Fumero (One Life to Live) as Detective Santiago, the one who’s always trying to prove she’s tough; and Terry Crews (Arrested Development, Idiocracy, the Old Spice Commercials) as Sergeant Jeffords, the one who works hard and takes his job seriously.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine premieres tonight, Tuesday, September 17th on FOX.

*****

Dads

FOX Summary: A pair of well-off business partners, who have been best friends since childhood, are left scouring for whatever space they can get to maintain sanity when their fathers pack up and move into their places, leaving them exasperated.

Warner (Giovanni Ribisi from TV’s My Two Dads, Friends, and many major motion pictures) and Eli (Seth Green from TV’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer and motion pictures, including The Italian Job and Can’t Hardly Wait) run a successful video gaming company.  They’re young, lucrative, and have fun with what they do.  But when their dads decide to move in with them (and in Warner’s case, with his wife, too), their lives are turned upside down.

From the previews, Dads actually does look funny… in a raunchy and sometimes inappropriate humor kind of way.  Not to mention, I feel Giovanni Ribisi does NOT do enough anymore.  I’m excited to see him back on TV.  His character’s dancing to Tiffany’s “I Think We’re Alone Now” was a Ted highlight for me…

The new sitcom also stars: Martin Mull (Clue) as Warner’s dad; Peter Riegert (Animal House) as Eli’s dad; Vanessa Lachey (MTV’s Total Request Live) as Warner’s wife; and Brenda Song (Disney’s The Suite Life series) as Eli’s and Warner’s assistant.

Oh, and Dads is produced by Seth MacFarlane (Family Guy, Ted).

Dads premieres tonight, Tuesday, September 17th on FOX.

*****

The Blacklist

NBC Summary: Ex-government agent Raymond “Red” Reddington has been one of the FBI’s Most Wanted fugitives, though he has decided to mysteriously surrender himself to new FBI profiler, Elizabeth Keen, a woman he seems to have no connections with at all.

First, the “seems to have no connections with at all” tells me that Reddington and Keen will have some connection.  So, I’m expecting that twist at some point down the road…

That said, The Blacklist looks really good.

Known for his brokering deals with terrorists around the world, fugitive “Red” Reddington (James Spader from the ‘80s movies Pretty in Pink, Less Than Zero, and Mannequin, as well as the hit TV series Boston Legal) shocks the FBI when he turns himself in.  In exchange for something, I’m not sure what… maybe a lighter sentence, no death penalty, something… he offers up his “blacklist,” a list of terrorists and criminals that only he knows about.

There’s only one catch—he’ll only work with one woman (Elizabeth Keen, played by Megan Boone from the short-lived Law & Order: Los Angeles).

Now, I remember the a-hole characters Spader played in Pretty in Pink, Less Than Zero, and Mannequin… he was great in those roles.  He was even better as the arrogant, yet intelligent and successful lawyer in Boston Legal… when he wasn’t lassoing in his good buddy, Denny Crane.  But as a straight up bad guy?  I bet Mr. Spader will be beyond good and I can’t wait to see his performance.

The new drama also stars Harry Lennix (Dollhouse), Diego Klattenhoff (Homeland), and Ryan Eggold (the more recent 90210, not the original).

The Blacklist premieres Monday, September 23rd on NBC.

*****

Hostages

CBS Summary: When a talented and prominent DC surgeon is handpicked to perform an operation on the President of the United States, a rogue FBI agent takes her family hostage and demands that she assassinate the president during surgery. 

Ellen Sanders (Toni Collette from The Sixth Sense and The United States of Tara), the surgeon scheduled to operate on the President of the United States, realizes her worst nightmares when her family is taken hostage… by one of the best FBI hostage negotiators in the country, Duncan Carlisle (Dylan McDermott from The Practice, Dark Blue, and American Horror Story).

The negotiation Carlisle is offering Sanders?  Kill the president or her family dies.  But while she loves her family, she refuses to cooperate and challenges her family’s captors… until one of them breaks.

After watching McDermott play a somewhat troubled husband with issues in American Horror Story, a d-bag in The Campaign, and a rogue agent in Olympus Has Fallen, I can’t wait to watch him in Hostages…  he’s really good at playing the creepy, good-looking bad guy.

The new drama/thriller also stars: Tate Donovan (Damages, Deception) as Brian, the good doctor’s husband; Billy Brown (Sons of Anarchy, Dexter) as Archer; Sandrine Holt (24, House of Cards) as Maria; Rhys Coiro (Entourage) as Kramer; and James Naughton (Ally McBeal, Gossip Girl) as President Kincaid.

Hostages premieres Monday, September 23rd on CBS.

*****

Mom

CBS Summary: A newly sober single mother, trying to get her life back in order and put her past mistakes behind her, is challenged in her attempts to stay positive when her estranged mother, a recovering alcoholic, suddenly reappears in her life. 

Christy (Anna Faris from the Scary Movie franchise, Waiting, Just Friends, The House Bunny, etc…) is just trying to get by… but she hasn’t had it easy.  She found herself pregnant as a teenager; she dropped out of high school; she turned to the bottle, of the adult beverage kind; and she’s reminding herself very much of someone she does not want to be—her mother (Allison Janney from The West Wing).

But now Christy is trying to straighten up her life, despite the return of her selfish and crazy mother.  She’s doing her best to ensure her teenage daughter does not continue down the path she did, but it’s proving a lot more difficult than she imagined.  Throw in the fact her “baby daddy” is still hanging around AND her boyfriend appears to be married to another woman, and Christy’s life may not be as easy to clean up and manage as she hoped it would be.

Mom premieres Monday, September 23rd on CBS.

*****

If I had to rank these in order of which one I’m most looking forward to, I’d put Sleepy Hollow at number one.  The Blacklist probably comes in second with Hostages following closely behind at number three.  Fourth, fifth, and sixth (last) places have to go to Mom, Dads, and Brooklyn Nine-NineEach of these sitcoms stars someone I love to watch and laugh along with; however, fresh sitcoms don’t really last these days, so I’m not putting too much stock in any of them until I’ve seen a few episodes…    

What do you think?  Will you tune in to watch any of these new shows?  Which one most interests you?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to New to TV – Fall 2013 (Part One)

  1. I have Sleepy Hollow on my DVR. I’m really looking forward to that one! Hubby wants to watch Dads because he likes Seth Green. I said, “Oh, you mean the one who played Oz on Buffy.” Blank look. “Okay, he played on Austin Powers.” “Yeah, that’s him.” LOL Hubby probably won’t stick with it if it’s too raunchy. That’s why he stopped watching Two Broke Girls.

    Btw, Spader played a really bad guy in the movie “Wolf”. Love that movie! Jack Nicholson actually played the good guy. 🙂

  2. tomwisk says:

    Watched Sleepy Hollow last night. I will rewatch to get all the fiddly bits that I might have missed. What I saw was good and I’m attracted adaptations of classics. I waiting for the Wonderland show on ABC.

  3. daezarkian says:

    Sleepy Hollow was quite good. It felt a tad rushed at times, but the story was original and it was very well crafted. We’ll definitely stick with it. (I gotta say, though, it was weird seeing Orlando Jones in a straight role. And Clancy Brown rules.)

    I really want to like “Brooklyn 99” and “Dads” but the previews I’ve seen haven’t done much for me. I guess we’ll see. Hearing the “Barney Miller” reference has me curious again on the former (that was one of my dad’s favorite shows when I was a kid).

    “Blacklist” also looks good. I feel like the trailer was a bit too revealing (they seemed to condense the entire Pilot episode into a 4 minute preview), but we’ll still give it a watch and see how it is.

  4. daezarkian says:

    Oh, and Spader also played Lee, an excellent psychotic hitman in the 90’s film “Three Days in the Valley”. It was actually after that one that I really became a Spader fan. ;D

  5. You didn’t mention Cold Justice. I watched the first episode and liked it a lot. It’s about real-life cases instead of plots written for television, but I thought it was very well done.

    • I didn’t mention Cold Justice or Low Winter Sun, both of which premiered a few weeks ago… I wanted to stick to the “new” programming starting these next few weeks. I want to watch Cold Justice but keep forgetting to set my DVR. I’ve watched a lot of true crime over the years and plan to add this to my list. Eventually.

      Maybe they’ll both see a Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday post in the future… 🙂

  6. Pooh says:

    Tiff this was very enlightening, thanks!!

  7. Oh wow Tiffany, there’s a lot of new ones this fall. I like James Spader and Alison Janney. But most of these actors I am not familiar with. Thanks for keeping us on our toes girl. I’ll be waiting for the reviews. 🙂

    • There are a TON of new shows this fall, Karen. I think I researched 31 new programs. So sit back and hold on tight. We’ll be covering the new fall shows for the next few weeks. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    Your blog is my go-to site for what I want to watch. I’m glad you’re covering the new fall shows. Even though I have NO TIME to add any more shows to my list, I have to admit that seeing James Spader and Toni Colette here pique my interest. Also, I’d love to see another police sitcom as smart as Barney Miller was.

    What’s still missing to me is the regular family sitcom. What is today’s equivalent of The Cosby Show, Family Ties, Growing Pains, etc.? Oh well, I’ll stop wallowing in 80s nostalgia. 😉

    • Hey, Julie! Thank you so much… I’m glad my TV addiction helps others. 🙂

      I hear that Michael J. Fox’s new sitcom, The Michael J. Fox Show, will be more like the old family comedies… it will be covered in either Part 2 or 3 of my series (it premieres 9/26). So I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. I’m with you. The Cosby Show. Family Ties. Growing Pains. The Wonder Years. Even Just the Eight of Us. Those shows were great back in the ’80s… good, ole family fun.

  9. Emma says:

    I like the sound of Dads if only for the cast. I have to check out Mom too for Anna Farris.

  10. Amber West says:

    I definitely want to check out the new Spader one, because, you know, SPADER.

    I’ve heard Dads is so awful that I was actually tempted to watch it and come out of Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday retirement to blog about it. 🙂

    • SPADER. You are so right… I will pretty much watch anything he’s in just because he’s in it. The man is brilliant.

      And you know I couldn’t help but laugh when I read your comment about Dads. Why? Because that means I will probably love it! LOL. If you do want to come out of WatchWed retirement to write up on it, let me know. We can do one of our double features. 🙂

      • Amber West says:

        I read this a few minutes ago and thought I’d share:

        “Dads is the equivalent of a teenager trying to piss off his parents by smoking weed but his parents don’t give a **** because it’s 2013 and they’ve been smoking weed since the ‘70s. Dads prides itself so much on being offensive but the most offensive thing is the complete and total lack of laughs. It’s not a shocking comedy; it’s nothing more than a poorly done parody of a CBS sitcom. Bottom line: It’s not a good show. It feels ten times longer than it is. It took a boring premise and turned it into a boring sitcom. It’s not even worth hate-watching. You won’t enjoy hating it. You’ll just wish you never watched. Your best bet is to just ignore the show completely and hope that it goes away, quickly and quietly, and that the creators slink away with their tails between their legs and no one ever speaks of it again.”

        I especially appreciated the “it’s not even worth hate-watching” bit.

      • Yikes! That is harsh… but you know I have to watch it. You know it. 🙂

  11. Jeff says:

    Loved the first episode of Sleepy Hollow. Dads was cute, so we’ll probably keep watching that one. I’ve set the DVR to record Blacklist, Brooklyn Ninety-Nine, and Hostages.

Leave a Reply

