Tele-Tuesday: New to Summer 2011 Too

In tandem with last week’s edition of Tele-Tuesday, here are a few more new television series braving the broadcasting waves this summer. 

MTV: Teen Wolf

We all remember the hit 1985 movie starring Michael J. Fox…MTV transforms the teenage werewolf comedy into a supernatural drama starring Tyler Posey as Scott McCall, a high school lacrosse player who escapes a dangerous wolf encounter with only a bite. At least he thinks he escaped…  This Teen Wolf edition has bite, pun intended; it will focus on werewolf mythology and the dark-side of the curse with some comparing it to the hit CW television series, The Vampire Diaries.  Will Scott control his werewolf urge or give in to the curse’s temptation?  Catch the special two-night Premier June 5th and June 6th

Lifetime: The Protector

Remember the 1990s series, The Profiler?  Ally Walker returns to television this summer as Gloria Sheppard, The Protector: a single mother/homicide detective.  By day, Sheppard and her partner (Tisha Campbell-Martin from Martin and My Wife and Kids) uphold the law.  Unlike other detectives, Sheppard uses unorthodox methods and she receives constant guidance from her Lieutenant (played by Miguel Ferrer from Crossing Jordan).  By night, the recently divorced Sheppard looks to her brother for help with her kids, but he brings his own trouble to the table.  Nothing in life comes easy… Premiers June 12th

ABC Family: The Nine Lives of Chloe King

Destined to be a part of Mai, an ancient race with extraordinary powers, a young girl learns to balance life as a normal sixteen year old, understand and master her new supernatural abilities, and battle the assassins trying to kill her.  So much for trying to be a normal teen!  Based on the young adult series by Celia Thompson (also known as Liz Braswell), Skyler Samuels, from The Gates and The Stepfather (2009), stars as Chloe King. Premiers June 14th  

SyFy: Alphas

Alphas follows five people pulled together by not-so ordinary superhuman abilities.  Dr. Lee Rosen, a non-Alpha played by Academy Award nominee David Strathairn (Temple Grandin), leads the team consisting of a hyperadrenal-Alpha with super strength and training as a former FBI Agent; a hyperkinesis-Alpha with perfect aim and motor skills, as well a history as an army sniper; an influencing-Alpha, the woman who manipulates others with her power of persuasion; a transducing-Alpha or human antennae; and a synesthete-Alpha, the most vulnerable of the Alphas with the ability to strengthen one of the five senses while leaving the other four useless. As one can imagine, these Type-A personalities will battle extreme personality differences, yet the team must overcome the odds to fight the more important crime at hand.  Premiers July 11th

Remember to catch these new shows this week:

Franklin & Bash – Wednesday on TNT

Love BitesThursday on NBC

The Glades – Sunday on A&E

Which of these shows will you check out this summer?  Do you like the strong presence of the supernatural series? What’s missing from television today that you’d like to see return?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: New to Summer 2011 Too

  1. Even though I love supernatural characters and story lines, I haven’t been impressed with a supernatural TV show since Charmed. I don’t know if it’s just that my tastes have changed, or television has, because I love reading urban fantasy. I even like it (most of the time) when they turn books or series into movies. Maybe there’s a quality difference between the big screen and cable.

    • Charmed is my favorite! You may think I’m crazy (or crazier than you already do) but I’ve always wanted a witch’s powers. I could be Prue for sure – people already tell me that I have looks that kill. Why not just throw some powers in with that so I can throw things around. Same with Piper, her earlier powers of freezing items & time were great, but I liked it when she could blow things up! Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. catierhodes says:

    The Glades: We missed the first season. Otherwise, we’d probably check this one out. Now that Breakout Kings has ended, we do need to find some new shows for this summer. We might try out The Protector.

    • You watched Breakout Kings? Us too! Are you surprised? I thought the show wrapped everything up in the finale JUST IN CASE it’s not brought back. If it is, we get to start with the prisoners being in Witsec. Fun. 😉

      You should totally check out Glades….Jim Longworth is sexy and a good detective. It would be better though if he spoke using his real Australian accent. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Jen Kirchner says:

    I’m really interested in the Teen Wolf series. I remember seeing the original Michael J. Fox movie in the theater in all of its horrible, campy glory. If they can rebirth this like the Buffy series, it will be worth watching. However, with MTV behind the wheel of this hopeful reboot, I’m just not sure what to expect. Brett Michaels with patches of carpet glued to his face, maybe?

    Please, no. LOL

    • Did you watch Teen Wolf? What did you think? I was surprisingly pleased with the quality coming from MTV. I fully expected your Brett Michaels image. 🙂 But, I got The CW supernatural show-type instead. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Jill Kemerer says:

    I didn’t know Teen Wolf was coming to TV! I’m sure it will be nothing like the movie.

    There’s a new show, Single Ladies (on VH1 maybe?) I’ll probably check out.

    • Teen Wolf is nothing like the movie….did you check it out?

      I missed Single Ladies. I thought it was a reality show but then I saw a commercial and thought otherwise. What do you think?

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Jess Witkins says:

    I just started watching The Vampire Diaries and I’m obsessed. It’s not a new show in the line-up, season 2 is almost over, but I’m just catching on I guess. LOVE the show! So many intense plot moments. Great hook in every episode. And I don’t feel like there’s an overwhelming amount of side stories.

    I’m curious about The Protector because I used to watch Profiler all the time with my mom. I was just thinking about that show and wondering what happened to the actress. Glad she’s back on screen again.

    And Love Bites already gets a nod from me if it stars Amanda from Ugly Betty!

    • Welcome to the obsession. 😉 Isn’t Vampire Diaries great?! The writing is some of the best on TV (IMO) and the people are beautiful.

      I love that you were a Profiler fan with me? That’s when I fell in love with Julian McMahon and then followed him to Charmed & Nip/Tuck.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I’m old school, so I probably won’t be watching Teen Wolf. Somehow I doubt it’s like the movie. From the list, I think Alphas has potential…and thanks for mentioning it, or I would have missed it!

    And I anxiously await True Blood and Dexter this summer! Whoo Whoo!

    • Hi, my Bones’ pal!

      Teen Wolf was surprisingly good for MTV! It’s nothing like the movie…it definitely has the dark elements of The Vampire Diaries.

      YAY! I’m so happy you’re going to watch Alphas with me.

      I’ve yet to meet anyone who didn’t watch TB or Dexter. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  7. wosushi says:

    Hmmm…That SyFy show is one I’ll check out. Always interested in at least seeing what they have to offer over there.

    (Also, I hate typing “SyFy”)

  8. I’ll probably check out Alphas. I love a good show with a supernatural element.

  9. Pooh says:

    I will be glad to see The Glades back. I will also check out The Protector and Franklin and Bash. Does that tell what I will not be checking. ha ha ha
    Love you, Pooh

Leave a Reply

