Friday FabOoolousness – Playing Hooky

Today I’ve decided to take a break from my usual Friday FabOoolousness posts – sort of like playing a game of blogging hooky.  At first I thought about another installment of Movie Madness (we watched Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol and The Darkest Hour last weekend while we were battling our colds).  But instead of writing about things that make me say Ooo, I’m going to partake in a question game that Nigel Blackwell tagged me in.

Like with every game, there are rules:

1) Answer the questions set by the tagger.  In my case, this would be Nigel.
2) Create eleven new questions to ask eleven new participants.
3) Share links to those eleven people in your blog and let them know you’ve tagged them.

Sounds simple enough, right?  So let’s play…

*****

What sort of vacation do you prefer, activity filled or relaxing on a beach?

Relaxing on a beach, without a doubt —  I worshiped the sun when I was younger, but now it’s more the peace and ambiance of the waves crashing against the sand; the sounds of the seagulls; and the smell of the salt water.

Beach view from our cabana...

Last year we were blessed to have the opportunity to spend a long weekend at the Cheeca Lodge in Islamorada, Florida (one of the Florida Keys).  We set up a shaded cabana area, lathered on the sun block, ordered pina coladas, and grabbed a book.

This is my ideal vacation, and I can’t wait to book another…

You have to go back to elementary school – what would you rather do, fifth grade science project or show off your latest dance moves on stage?

I have NEVER been one to dance in public without consuming a few adult cocktails ahead of time.  Today I can dance in front of those I love without them worrying about my mental stability, but in the fifth grade?  Definitely not.  I was not at all comfortable in my skin back then…

I’d rather set up a new science fair project.  Actually, I’d probably do the same one – photosynthesis.  I have such a hard time keeping plants alive today, why not experiment and showcase the most successful ways to kill a plant?

What do you juggle the most of? (and don’t forget this isn’t an X-rated site!)

My time — I juggle between writing my YA stories, my blogging, my freelance gig, and finding the time to complete my exercise routine and my house chores each and every day.  Who says staying home isn’t a full-time job?  And we don’t even have kids…

What country would you most like to visit and why?

Italy — visiting the Vatican has always been my number one wish on my traveling bucket list.  But Italy has so much more to offer between the archaeology, the food, the wine, the countryside, and the beaches.  I simply must go.

Image via ItalianVisits.com

Have you ever met any of your childhood heroes, and what did you think of them?

No — most of my childhood heroes were either family members or fictional characters.  Obviously, I have of course met my heroic family members — Mom, Dad, and Mimi; but I was never quite lucky enough to meet the others — Nancy Drew, The Lone Ranger, Wonder Woman, etc.

However, I have been lucky enough to meet a childhood crush, and he lived up to all of my expectations.  Who?  Oh — Matthew McConaughey.

My girlfriends and I were HUGE fans of Dazed and Confused in high school.  During my first few years of college, I drove a beverage cart around one of the country clubs in my home town.  Matthew, as I like to call him, visited his brother one weekend who also happened to be a member of the very same country club.  Needless to say, everyone was excited about his visit; but despite what my insides were doing, I played it cool.  I drove my cart up to him, asked if he needed any cold beverages (and by that, I mean beer), and what he said next literally made me want to scream and kick my feet – “Alright, Alright, Alright.”

I’m not kidding.  He really said it, in that sexy and raspy voice of his.  But that was just the beginning.  After his weekend stay, he sent a few of us autographed portfolio pictures of himself to thank us for treating him like a “normal human being” — and yes; my Matthew picture is framed in an 8X10 frame and was the center of my mantle for the longest time.

Thankfully, my “real-life” guy is very comfortable with my crushes…

Can you imagine what you would do with a mega-lottery win?

No — I really can’t.  I imagine I’d do the obvious, including treat myself and my loved ones to a nice vacation, pay the bills, donate to a few worthy causes, and save the rest.  A part of me thinks that my life wouldn’t change much, other than I’d spend a little more on myself than I do now.

What sort of pet do you have?

It’s more like pets, plural — We have our Shadow, a geriatric mutt who has recently lost her hearing; Shady-cat, my beautiful and somewhat protective Maine Coon; and Lucky-cat, our little, fat, and happy runt that I rescued from the parking lot at work.  We also have a 135-gallon salt-water aquarium, but we’re having a difficult time keeping our fish from dying.  The water tests fine; we have no idea what the problem is what that thing.

Yes, my guy built that beautiful stand and matching canopy (which we really can't see from this picture).

Friday night movie – scary, funny, romance, or … ?

Scary — 100%.  I’ve always had a fascination with scary movies, and I honestly have no idea why.  My parents never watched with me, but they also never discouraged me from scaring the living daylights out of myself.  To this day, I love to watch anything scary — even the B-rated and direct-to-DVD releases.  Nothing is off-limits.

Does seeing tomorrow’s weather forecast matter to you?

Absolutely — probably too much.  Just ask my guy.  I stress about things that I can’t control, the weather being probably the scariest thing in the world to me.  I have a prescription to get me through the worst of the storms, but I refuse to take it.  Why  be all drugged up when I really need to be paying attention to the storms around me?

We recently experienced a severe storm that brought over fifteen tornadoes to the DFW area.  I abandoned my writing, unplugged my laptop, backed everything up to my flash-drive, and glued my rear to the couch.  I watched as one twister devastated the ground for over thirty-five minutes straight without lifting back into the sky.  Once our sirens blasted, I wrangled up the one cat that would come with me, and we sat in the downstairs bathroom until the noise stopped.  Our neighborhood was blessed, nothing bad happened; but I can’t say the same for the rest of the Metroplex.

Whose marriage did you last attend, and with who?

Sarah & Michael — it was a beautiful ceremony in a small, old-fashioned town-square church with only the closest of friends and family in attendance.  The reception was outside the bride’s parents’ house, and the setting was absolutely breathtaking.  I of course attended with my guy, and he even got out on the dance floor with me at one point (something that rarely happens).

Just the two of us...having a great time!

It was a romantic evening, topped off with our Red Raiders beating the Oklahoma Sooners in Norman, Oklahoma.  Heck, it was practically the only Texas Tech victory we were able to celebrate this past football season, so we remember the evening…

You’ve just been tapped to star in a new Hollywood action blockbuster, would you do your own stunts?

Heck NO! — I’m the biggest klutz ever, plus I’m terrified of heights.  I’ve been known to trip going up stairs.  My mom once said that she had no idea how I could be so athletic, yet trip over my own two feet.  Yea, I have no idea either.

Do I look capable of pulling off my own stunts? I didn't think so...

I’m also a firm believer that if anything bad can happen, it will happen to me.  My mom says I’m a pessimist, but I like to believe I’m more a realist than anything.

*****

Well there we have it.  I answered each and every one of Nigel’s questions, maybe a bit much on a few.  Now I pass this game along to eleven others…

Amber West
Jen L. Kirchner
Catie Rhodes
Stacy Green
Angela Wallace
Ellie Soderstrom
Ashley Prince
Liz Schulte
Emma Meade
Jillian Dodd
Angela V. Cook

And finally, my questions for the amazing eleven listed above:

Do you prefer coffee or tea in the mornings?
What book have you read over and over again?
What’s your favorite outdoor activity?
Do you cook and/or bake straight from the recipe, or do you get creative and throw things together in the kitchen?
Where is your favorite place to visit in the United States?
Which animals must you see when visiting a zoo?

And I wouldn’t be myself without asking…

What’s your favorite television show airing today?
What’s your favorite television show of all time?
What’s your favorite movie of all time?
What do you like to snack on when at the movie theater?
Who is your current Hollywood or otherwise famous crush?

If I didn’t include you in my list of eleven, feel free to join the game and play along with us and answer any of the above questions in the comments.  I’d love to hear from you!!   

This entry was posted in Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Playing Hooky

  1. Great questions! And answers. Lol, Matthew liked that you all treated him like a “normal human being.” That’s sweet.

  2. EllieAnn says:

    I love your story of Matthew McCoughnahayghan!! (Sorry, I forget how to spell his last name) His niece went to the preschool my mother-in-law directs. I love it that you put his picture up on his mantle, LoL. Do you put all of the pictures of your celeb-crushes on your mantle or just his? Does your BF have any lady-crushes up? 😉
    Thanks so much for tagging me. How fun!

    • You know, now that you mention it…my guy never talks about any of his female crushes, Ellie! Now I kinda feel bad. Okay, not really. 🙂 And no, Matthew is the only crush to make the mantle; although, I do have a Craig Biggio Bobble Head Doll on my bookshelf in the office. I’ve crushed on him since I was about eight years old…

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  3. Soooo awesome to get to know you better and…LOVE Matthew!!!

  4. Phil White says:

    1– depends on what time in the morning–if its before 9am my ans is coffeeooafter 9am tea
    2–“My Wicked Wicked Ways” by Errol Flynn
    3–Golf
    4–Creative
    5–Santa Anita and L.A.
    6–Pandas at the National Zoo
    7–Justified and Revenge–equally
    8–Hawaii 5-0
    9–Dances with Wolves
    10–popcorn and a coke
    11–Angelina Jolie

  5. Angela says:

    Sounds like fun! Love the questions you came up with ;o) I think I’ll do this for next week’s blog post! Thanks for the tag!

  6. Catie Rhodes says:

    Thanks for the tag. You know that sometimes I do them, and sometimes I don’t. This one actually appeals to me. But you know I don’t always follow the rules…so keep a lookout for Catie’s Version™.

    (And you know what? I am a rule breaker just because. I really am that kid your parents warned you to stay away from.)

    • I’m a big fan of Catie’s Version… and if you’re the kid Mom and Dad always warned me to stay away from, that means we’re the best of friends. Rebels ’til the end. LOL

      Thanks for stopping by, Catie! 🙂

  7. Hi Tiff

    Good answers and some great pictures. Matthew McConaughey sounds like a great guy. I’m sure it’s hard to be a normal human being in his world. I, too, struggle with idea of what to do with a mega lottery win. It wouldn’t be long before I had everything I wanted, and then what? I think I’d have to give it away, there’s so many good causes.
    I had to laugh at “romantic evening, topped off with our Red Raiders beating the Oklahoma.” Ah yes, the very definition of romance, eh?
    Thanks for taking part.

    Cheers!

  8. Emma says:

    Friday night movie has to be scary! Agree with this 100%. Thanks for the tag.

  9. 1. Coffee in the morning
    2. IT by Stephen King
    3. Photographing nature
    4. Creative when cooking, but I go by the recipe when baking.
    5. Panama City Beach, FL
    6. Maybe tigers
    7. Person of Interest (you knew this one)
    8. X-Files, maybe
    9. Half Light
    10. Buttered popcorn
    11. Alex O’Loughlin or Jim Caviezel

  10. Elisa Nuckle says:

    1. Do you prefer coffee or tea in the mornings?
    Tea! I’m a huge tea person and usually drink coffee only if there is no other alternative caffeine source, haha.
    2. What book have you read over and over again?
    The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley. I’ve read it a good 10 times, and though it’s not the best book, for some reason it always inspired me.
    3.What’s your favorite outdoor activity?
    Does BBQ count as an outdoor activity?
    4.Do you cook and/or bake straight from the recipe, or do you get creative and throw things together in the kitchen?
    You don’t want me to cook if you value your kitchen intact.
    5.Where is your favorite place to visit in the United States?
    Yosemite. When we lived in California we were only 2 hours away from the place, and the park and the drive up there was breathtaking. It’s the one thing I truly, truly miss now that we’re back in Texas.
    6.Which animals must you see when visiting a zoo?
    Tigers, lions, any and all big cats, basically. Let’s see, what else? The reptiles, any fish if they have them — here in Houston they have a sea lion show so that’s fun. Pretty much the entire zoo. Haha.
    7.What’s your favorite television show airing today?
    If you mean today as in Friday, er, I don’t know. A lot of what I watch is recorded and we just watch it later.
    If you mean today as in currently overall, then Game of Thrones. Love. It. (Though I could do without the boobs).
    8.What’s your favorite television show of all time?
    That’s a really tough question. Eureka has been awesome, Game of Thrones, too. The Tudors. Sons of Anarchy. Gah, there’s just too many, I know I’m missing some awesome ones on this list.
    9.What’s your favorite movie of all time?
    The Lion King. 😀
    10.What do you like to snack on when at the movie theater?
    Almond M&Ms and a red slurpy.
    11.Who is your current Hollywood or otherwise famous crush?
    TOM HIDDLESTON. Then of course you have Chris Hemsworth, Edward Norton, etc. Basically the entire male Avengers cast (except Mark Ruffalo and Samuel L. Jackson, haha).

  11. Julie Glover says:

    I answered 11 questions today too! Mine were from Karen Rought. I enjoyed your answers. However, when I read the science project/dance question, I thought, “Who in their right mind would pick science project?” and then realized that would be you. LOL.

    As to coffee or tea…Coke Zero or Dr Pepper Ten. Soda is my source of caffeine, and I start drinking it right after breakfast. I always visit the elephants and giraffes at the zoo. In fact, when I lived in Abilene, the zoo there (yes, Abilene, Texas has a zoo!) had a bridge that went over the giraffe habitat where you could be at the giraffes’ head level. It was really cool. Current celeb crush is probably still David Boreanaz. I have to start watching Bones soon. Thanks, Tiffany!

  12. I love this! Nigel’s questions are hilarious. That basketball pic of you is to die for. Yeah, stay away from doing your own stunts. Seriously. Please tell you guy that fish tank is gorgeous. He built the stand? I’m in awe.

    I love this game that’s going around. It let’s us get to know each other a little better! Who knew Matthew (as you like to call him) is such a cool guy? I love that about him!

Leave a Reply

