More Football Foods!

Football is here!!

This means it’s not only time to watch our favorite teams kick off, but also time for those special foods that we make specifically for football games.  Last week, I included three of my family’s recipes: deviled eggs, queso, and sausage balls.  Today, I’m adding to that list and sharing two more of our household’s must-haves… plus a few of our favorite adult beverages perfect for tailgating!

*****

Mom’s Drunken Weenies

The picture says it all… that’s all you need!

A crock pot
A package or two of party weenies
A beer of any kind, I used Bud Light this day
Any kind of BBQ sauce, although Stubb’s is might tasty

Dump, mix, cover, and cook!

Cook on high for an hour or two and then simmer.  It’s that simple!  And guys love this stuff…

*****

Easy Spinach and Artichoke Dip

One package of frozen, creamed spinach
16 oz. of drained artichoke halves, cut into bite size pieces
2 tablespoons of jarred pesto
2 tablespoons of horseradish sauce (or mayonnaise if preferred)
1/2 cup of chopped onion
Grated Parmesan cheese

Heat the creamed spinach per the instructions on the package.  Mix together with bite-size artichokes, pesto, horseradish sauce, chopped onion, and a few shakes of the cheese.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Pour mixture into an oven-safe dish, cover with Parmesan cheese and bake at 350 degrees for at least thirty minutes.

I saw this cooking segment with Guy Fieri years ago on Regis and Kelly, and Guy put together his spinach and artichoke dip in an aluminum baking pan covered in foil.  Of course, he used more ingredients than I do (he’s a culinary wizard, after all) and he grilled it outside!!  I haven’t tried grilling it yet, but maybe at the next tailgate…

*****

And now for our favorite quick and easy ADULT BEVERAGES.

By “adult beverage,” I mean NO ONE under the age of twenty-one should try any of the below drinks.

Margaritaville Skinny Margaritas

Just add ice!!

I love this stuff.  It is now a staple in my household and I always make sure to have a bottle in the pantry or refrigerator!

Ice-Cold Beer

Chill…

Pick your favorite flavor!  I like more than what’s pictured above… but everyone gets the idea.

Classic Bourbon and Coke

The BEST stuff ever!!

I’ve always enjoyed Whiskey and/or Bourbon and Coke with football.  Heck, I even knew a boy in college my friends and I called “Jim Beam Boy.”  Why?  Because he always kept us warm by pouring a little Jim Beam into our Cokes at the football games.  Now, that’s a good friend!

*****

Do you make anything special during football season?  What’s your favorite tailgating beverage?  Please share!  I’d love to hear from you.

And since it’s football season, remember to check out my YA Mystery novel, Football Sweetheart… available on Kindle and Nook!

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Football Sweetheart, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to More Football Foods!

  1. Yum! I love football food. I love spinach dip in a bread bowl (the recipe on the back of the Knoll vegetable soup mix). And pigs in a blanket 😀 But now I want your crock pot party weenies. Mostly because it’s fun to say 😀

  2. tomwisk says:

    Happy football season. The food is wonderful but my fave is a bowl of my maxed out chili.

    • Chili… I love chili. It’s just too warm down here in Texas for chili just yet.

      • tomwisk says:

        Cooking chili is a pain and it heats the kitchen for a while. But that’s what freezers are for. I find a good day to cook it and set up empty containers and meat and spices. Soak beans the night before. I make two kinds beaned and unbeaned. Beaned is nice for football and unbeaned is fine on hotdogs or mixed in with egg noodles and topped with onions and cheese. It’s a matter of taste.

      • I’ll even take my chili with beans on hot dogs… love chili with beans. I may have to try it with egg noodles. 🙂

  3. US football food seems awfully similar to NZ club rugby food! On my experience audiences don’t tend to drink during games though – alcohol is banned at larger games. Afterwards it’s a different matter…of course.

  4. We’ll probably be making buffalo chicken dip or maybe a 7 layer taco dip…

  5. Pooh says:

    My dear Niece you are right on top of all football needs!!! Love you

  6. I’m so with you on the Skinny Margarita’s, Bud Light and Artichoke Dip but I’ve never tasted or had the weenies with beer and barbeque sauce. Can’t wait to tell my daughter, they are crazy for football and I know she’ll love this recipe. I will try it too! Thanks!!!

  7. chefyego says:

    Mmmmm Bourbon
    My fave drink. Theres a bar just opened here in Scotland that hust sells bourbons n classic american food
    I tell yeah its about time for a bourbon loving scotsman

  8. chefyego says:

    And of coarse i get to see my Cowboys try another year with a choker called Romo

    • LOL. Unfortunately, for the Cowboys, there’s a lot more to worry about than Romo… like all of the receivers who don’t catch the ball. Or catch it and then drop it for no apparent reason. I love the ‘Boys, but it’s hard being a fan. Here’s hoping they pull it together this season!

Leave a Reply

