Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Here a Laugh, There a Laugh

This week, Amber West and I are laughing up a storm over the new comedies on TV, and we’re sharing a double dose of laughter with our Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday reviews of Suburgatory, New Girl, Up All Night, and 2 Broke Girls

Up All Night

Reagan and Chris Brinkley have it all – good looks, great jobs, exciting night lives, and most importantly, a healthy and loving relationship.  Reagan (Christina Applegate, Married with Children) produces her best friend’s Oprah-like talk show and Chris (Will Arnett, Saturday Night Live) is on his way to partner at his law firm.  Their successful careers are right on schedule, that is until their life changes forever with a simple announcement –they’re pregnant.

The Brinkleys refuse to think that things are going to change, but they are in for a big surprise.  It all starts when the birthing plan is thrown out the window the second they arrive at the hospital: Reagan’s water breaks at the studio, so she doesn’t have her overnight bag and favorite headband; their doctor is busy with another delivery and isn’t available to them; and the natural delivery just isn’t working so Reagan goes in for a c-section.  Despite all of the chaos, baby Amy arrives. 

After the baby arrives, the struggles continue as Reagan and Chris battle insomnia, attempt to clean up their language, and insist on not losing their “cool” personas, their sexy bodies, and their super sporty car.  They try, but they can’t avoid the inevitable.    

Let’s not forget about Reagan’s best friend and boss, Ava (Maya Rudolph, Bridesmaids).  While she undoubtedly loves Reagan, Ava doesn’t understand when the world doesn’t revolve around her – but not in a bad way, in a funny way.  Ava’s a mess; and Reagan holds her together, which is why when Reagan takes maternity leave, Ava is lost. 

We don’t watch many thirty minute sitcoms in our house, but couldn’t resist the urge to try Christina Applegate’s return to TV.  It didn’t hurt that we’re both huge SNL fans and love Maya Rudolph.  Preconceived notions aside, I can’t help but award Up All Night with a JFTV rating – it satisfies like a Snickers. 

Up All Night keeps the laughs coming, and anyone trying to maintain any kind of balance with children will enjoy.    

2 Broke Girls

Meet Max (Kat Dennings, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist) – Manhattan nanny by day and Brooklyn diner waitress by night.  Max has control of her life, a life that’s not extravagant by any means; she has her own apartment, boyfriend, and overall seems happy.  That is until the diner hires a blonde, dressed like she owns the place, to share shifts with her. 

Meet Caroline (Beth Behrs) – a former Manhattan socialite who has lost everything courtesy of her father’s Ponzi scheme.  Caroline runs away from her life, not that she has a choice, and chooses Brooklyn as her new residence (because according to a Google search, Brooklyn is the least likely place anyone from her former circle visits). 

Caroline doesn’t need or use her Ivy-league education and her business and marketing background to wait tables, until she discovers the diner is not selling the tasty cupcakes for enough money – Max’s cupcakes.  Caroline knows that in the city, people will pay $7-$10 a cupcake, and she begins pocketing some extra cash and creates a business plan.  Now, all she needs is Max to hop on board.

Although it’s very difficult for her to do, Max invites Caroline to stay with her.  After a boyfriend mishap, the two bond and despite Max’s constant put-downs, the girls plan to start a new life together and open a cupcakery – Max is the talent and Caroline is the brains.  In just a few episodes, we’ve seen both characters grow, even if their cupcake funds haven’t (at the end of each episode, the cupcake savings tallies on the screen for the audience – the girls have a long way to go to reach $250,000).   

Let’s be honest, I only set the pilot of 2 Broke Girls to record so I could say, “I checked it out.”  After all, the sitcom is created by Michael Patrick King (Sex and the City) and comedian Whitney Cummings, and it fills a very popular time slot between CBS’ How I Met Your Mother and Two and a Half Men.   

But, after only one episode, I returned to the series option on the DVR and updated the recording to grab all of the new episodes.   Even the man of the house has watched a few episodes with me and laughs out loud (even if he won’t admit it).   

For this, I must award 2 Broke Girls with my second JFTV rating of the day, especially since each episode centers around diner food and cupcakes.  The actresses have great chemistry and comedic timing, and the audience can’t help but root for the two to open their boutique cupcakery with Chestnut (the horse) hanging around outside.

All this talk about cupcakes has me drooling!

What do you think? Have you watched Up All Night or 2 Broke Girls?   Can you relate to any of the characters?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and check out her review of Jeremy Sisto’s suburban-purgatory, or Suburgatory, and the “adorakable” New Girl, Zooey Deschanel, for a few more must-see laughs. 

Need another reason to watch?  All of these shows have been picked up!

Come back next week when Amber and I curl up with TV’s new dramas based on popular fairytales: Grimm and Once Upon a Time.  

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future. 

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Here a Laugh, There a Laugh

  1. Amber West says:

    I’ve only seen one episode of each of these. Up All Night is funny – Maya Rudolph is totally my sister (by that, she reminds me of my sister). Will Arnett is always hilarious and I was missing him after Running Wilde was cancelled.

    Two Broke Girls…well…it is probably good that you did this review. Remember the vitriol I mentioned in my post? Yeah. I don’t love this show. I don’t even like it. But, since I know a LOT of people do I will refrain from getting mean about it.

    Love your review…even if I didn’t love both shows 🙂

  2. LOVE Up All Night! My favorite episode has been the one where they get new neighbors across the street, and they are SO concerned about being cool but end up looking like crazy people. So funny! I haven’t seen 2 Broke Girls. My DVR is so packed, I was waiting for you to review it first before I added yet another show. 😉

    And on a side note, can I just say, I am super-pumped about Katie Holmes as the slutty pumpkin on HIMYM this coming Monday!!

    • Hey, Dezz! I think that the new neighbor episode was my favorite too. What a train wreck! Call the police, then go to the party? LOVE it! And his not knowing where to leave a bottle of liquor…. 🙂 They make dorks like us feel better about ourselves. HA! You know I love you!

      I’m excited about a few Halloween episodes this year, but Katie Holmes as a slutty pumpkin will be hard to beat. Thanks for stopping by! Guns Up!

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    Haven’t seen those yet, they look fun. Wish my evenings were more civilised then I’d get more giggles in. I must look out for these, thanks!

    • If given a choice, I’d choose to laugh over anything else. Unfortunately, there’s usually not much to choose from as far as sitcoms on the tube. The two shows over on Amber’s blog today are great too, especially New Girl. Thank you for stopping by, Catherine!

  4. K.B. Owen says:

    Another 2 shows I’ll have to try (really where do my nights go? I have no idea)! Thanks for the info, Tiffany! I love your Wed. series. Survivor tonight! Won’t miss that. 🙂

  5. Julie Glover says:

    I tried both of these shows and turned them both off. I loved Will Arnett in Arrested Development and Christina Applegate in Samantha Who? but this one just didn’t sing for me. As to 2 Broke Girls, I had a hard time coming anywhere close to buying the premise. Losing Daddy’s money does not mean you lose Daddy’s connections; people in these circles do not usually end up bussing tables at diners. (I know, I know: It’s fiction, it’s a sitcom, and I’m being awfully picky.) Perhaps it’s just a matter of having clever shows like Castle and Psych to watch right now. The only sitcoms I’m tracking are How I Met Your Mother and Big Bang Theory – although I did enjoy the pilot of Man Up. Thanks, Tiffany!

    • Amber West says:

      Julie, yay! At least one person who isn’t going to hate me for not liking (or, more accurately, hating) 2 Broke Girls. 🙂

      • Arrested Development, that was a funny show! Did you hear that they may make a movie? I saw Jason Bateman in an interview and he indicated they were writing/creating right now….

        Regarding 2 Broke Girls, I don’t know…..I would imagine that it would be very difficult for someone’s contacts and circles to not blame family members for Daddy’s actions, which may help explain Caroline’s need to flee and not having anyone. Just look at the BM real-life situation. His wife and sons were persecuted for his actions because people couldn’t believe they knew nothing of what BM was doing.

        Regardless, 2BG isn’t the best thing on TV and didn’t even earn a MacTV rating like Amber’s two shows, but it does make me laugh. 😉

        Thanks for stopping by, Julie!

  6. Catie Rhodes says:

    Up All Night sounds like every yuppie couple who has a baby in their late 30s/early 40s. The difference being, of course, that you don’t have to sit next to them and their screaming kid at a $50 a plate restaurant. You can laugh about the dumb stuff they do since it’s just on TV.

    Like you, we don’t watch too many sitcoms. I might check into Up all Night, though. 😀

    • Catie, did you check out Amber’s blog? New Girl…..maybe I love Jess because I’m a huge dork myself, but if I had to choose between the four comedies (my two plus her two), I’d watch New Girl first. That said, if you check out Up All Night, be sure and let me know what you think. The show seems to be more about the parents adjusting than actually parenting, if that makes sense. That could be why it’s so funny, because I’d react the same way in a lot of situations. 🙂

  7. eden says:

    Thanks for another great review. I’m looking forward to checking out “Up All Night”. I became a Christina Applegate fan when “Samantha Who?” was on the air.

  8. Okay, I thanked you and Amber for Prime Suspect and Unforgettable, but I should have included 2 Broke Girls. Hilarious. Thanks.

    • You are welcome, David. Thanks for the kind words and for stopping by. I’ve decided that you like TV shows with beautiful women. The Closer. Unforgettable. Rizzoli & Isles. Criminal Minds. 2 Broke Girls. I could go on….

      By the way, there is nothing wrong with that. I do the same, just for the hot guys. Hawaii Five-0. Burn Notice. Chuck. Criminal Minds. Supernatural. The Vampire Diaries. I could go on…. 🙂

      It doesn’t hurt that every single one of the shows mentioned is really good!

  9. Wow, I sure am missing all the great shows. I haven’t seen either one, but a show with cupcakes? Heck yes I’m in. I’ll have to set my DVR. Thanks!

  10. Bella says:

    Tiffany, I love 2 Broke Girls! I look forward to every episode because I know with great certainty that I am going to laugh my ass off! And you’re right–the chemistry between both the female characters is wonderful. However, the funny man of the hour is the cook at the diner! OMG, talk about hysterical!

  11. Sara Grambusch says:

    I checked out Up All Night and turned it off. It wasn’t horrible but I’m a really hard sell. I feel like Will Arnett can’t do anything right but Arrested Development. Oh that’s mean, but it’s true. Oh well, there is theoretically a new season and movie on it’s way.

  12. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

